The KSeeker

In Search of Knowledge…

She’s cool, she’s caring

Posted by Girish Krishnan on August 9, 2006

My lovely sis has taken care of me like no one else has ..

I got my first rakhi when i was in 9th or 10th standard even before the BJP-RSS really made it popular in my state.Its rakshabandan today and this post is dedicated to my sis … and i write it knowing that she will not be reading it..

Impossible as it seems, I remember things from when i was really little..esp those connected to u!

I should have been around 3 years old and not going to school – I remember playing this stupid game where u used to issue books (kid magazine called “poompatta” – meaning the butterfly) to me over a counter (the bedroom window). I used to run into the house, give the book back to you and run out of the house to the counter again to repeat the game!

I was in UKG/1rst standard when U and Lakshmi chechi (means sis in Mallu) used to take so much care in getting me across the road while going to the bus stop in the morning (to catch the “aluva” bus – that was the name given to the school bus because it used to start picking up kids from a place called Aluva!). You saw to it that i always got share of a seat (enough for my little body!) in the crowded bus. And Lakshmi Chechi who was quite a bully to others used to ensure that her best friend and her chubby brother always got a seat!

We shifted to our riverside house when i was in the first standard. I remember u telling dad n mom, that i pushed our neighbour into water (it was a river actually :-)) – the victim was a guy four years senior to me; luckily he knew swimming and that saved his life!. I dont know if u were disappointed that dad kept his cool and didnt do anything to me! (he seldom scolds me anyway!)

For my first five years in school from UKG to 4th standard, you used to visit me regularly during the lunch break. You and your gang of friends did those rounds just to make sure that ur little brother was doing alright! I loved to see the jealous faces of my friends when u fussed over me and pressed a toffee or two into my small palm…

I was in fifth standard when my Malayalam language teacher complained to you that i wasnt studying any of the poems for any of the exams! As a caring sis, when you asked me why, i told you that the marginal utility was not worth studying for and u totally understood me !!

U always set a high standard in whatever u did, and that always kept the “lazy” me inspired to at least catch up close to that level.

U knew i was crazy about music and bought me so many audio cassettes with your limited pocket money! More importantly u trusted me to make the right choice with ur precious money even when i was 11 years old!

A “thank you once again” wont serve the purpose, i need to be at home this week!…

and i am coming…..

4 Responses to “She’s cool, she’s caring”

  1. Revathy said

    Welcome Home Girish.:)
    I hope U have a lovely time with your sister.

    I havnt seen my chettan in a while and your post made me feel quite nostalgic. Have had to “post| my rakhi to him the past few years and I do hope that next year I can personally tie the rakhi round his wrist.

  2. Revathy said

    Welcome Home Girish.:)
    I hope U have a lovely time with your sister.

    I havnt seen my chettan in a while and your post made me feel quite nostalgic. Have had to “post” my rakhi to him the past few years and I do hope that next year I can personally tie the rakhi round his wrist.

  3. MMM said

    Brought back similar memories for me as well….well written…

  4. Revathy – Thanks for ur wishes – I got my Rakhi! U’ll surely get to tie ur rakhi too!

    MM – thanx, would read it only if u’d pen them 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
